Collection >>>
introduction 15th -19th century 20th century actual artists






DENL
About the Evolution of Modern Stained Glass
   
 
Zum Vergrößern Klicken!
 

Since November 1997 the art of stained glass has been enriched by the establishment of a new centre which is unique in Germany: the German Museum of Stained Glass, located in Linnich, a small town rich in tradition, situated between Aachen and Mönchengladbach. Linnich also hosts the oldest manufacturer of stained glass windows in Germany.

The museum is a former grain mill which has been renovated in keeping with the style. Its previous interior was removed to the core, so that now the building is flooded with light and contains seven levels with about 1400sqm of exhibition area which provides space for a multitude of varied exhibits. The museums’ conception is orientated towards displaying the development of modern stained glass art since the end of the 19th century to current trends.
Rhineland – where Linnich is located – and Westphalia, the neighbouring region, take a key position in the renewal of modern stained glass which is connected to the name of Johan Thorn Prikker (1868-1932), a pioneering lecturer who worked at Krefeld, Hagen, München, Düsseldorf and Köln and, together with his numerous students, got a development going which aimed at replacing the historicistic painting “onto glass” with “painting with glass” and to orientate again towards the expressiveness of Medieval stained glass.

The permanent exhibition on three levels aims at showing the historical development of stained glass with examples ranging from the 16th century towards the present. Organized courses at the museum’s workshop offer the visitors the possibility to try out techniques of stained glass art with their own hands. Moreover, some exhibits convey insight into the manufacturing of broad-sheet glass.

In addition to the stock of (window) panes and designs in possession of the foundation and the registered voluntary association, the museum is supported by exhibits from private and public donors.
Representing 19th century historicism are copies - gifted by Dr. Sven Fischer - from the estate of Fritz Geiges, who was a restorer, stained glass artist and art historian. Geiges’ works document formally and as regards content the development of stained glass from the Middle Ages to the modern age. Fundamental contributions to the collection, both as donation as well as permanent loan, were made by the Glasmalerei-Werkstatt Dr. Heinrich Oidtmann.
More than 100 stained glass windows on permanent loan from the Nordrhein-Westfalen-Stiftung convey important examples of modern figurative and abstract stained glass of the second half of the 20th century. Extensive estates by Maria Katzgrau (1912-1998) and Erich Feld (1919-1990) supplement the collection with significant material of post-war art, which demonstrates the interaction of stained glass artists with the fields of painting, sculpture, plastic art and object art, all of which influenced the evolution of stained glass.

>>> 15th -19th century
>>> 20th century
>>> actual artists

     
 
Seite druckenPrint
  zum SeitenanfangTop
     
© German Museum of Stained Glass, Linnich 2009

Sammlung >>>
Einführung 15.-19. Jahrhundert 20. Jahrhundert aktuelle Tendenzen






ENNL
Zur Entwicklungsgeschichte der modernen Glasmalerei
   
 
Zum Vergrößern Klicken!
 

Seit November 1997 hat die Glasmalerei in Linnich, einem kleinen aber traditionsreichen Ort zwischen Aachen und Mönchengladbach, ein neues, deutschlandweit einzigartiges, Zentrum. Hier ist neben der ältesten Glasmalereiwerkstatt Deutschlands das Deutsche Glasmalerei-Museum Linnich ansässig.

Das lichtdurchflutete Museum bietet in den entkernten und stilgerecht sanierten Räumen einer ehemaligen Getreidemühle auf sieben Ebenen mit ca. 1400 m² Ausstellungsfläche einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Exponate Raum. Es ist in seiner Konzeption darauf ausgerichtet, der modernen Glasmalereientwicklung seit Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts bis in die aktuellen Strömungen ein Forum zu bieten.

Das Rheinland und Westfalen nehmen in der Erneuerung der modernen Glasmalerei eine Schlüsselstellung ein, die seit 1910 mit dem für die Glasmalerei wegweisenden Johann Thorn Prikker (1868-1932) verbunden ist, der in Krefeld, Hagen, München, Düsseldorf und Köln lehrte und mit seinen zahlreichen Schülern eine Entwicklung in Gang brachte, die historistische Malerei „auf Glas“ durch Malerei „mit Glas“ zu ersetzen, die sich wieder an der Ausdrucksstärke des mittelalterlichen Glasmosaiks orientierte.

Zum Verständnis der historischen Entwicklung der Glasmalerei dient auf drei Ebenen eine Dauerausstellung mit Beispielen vom 16. Jahrhundert bis in die Gegenwart. In der museumseigenen Werkstatt kann der Besucher im Rahmen organisierter Workshops eigenhändig die Technik der Glasmalerei in Einzelschritten nachempfinden. Zudem vermitteln Exponate Einblicke in die Herstellung mundgeblasener Scheiben.

Neben dem Bestand an Scheiben und Entwürfen aus dem Besitz der Stiftung und des Fördervereins Deutsches Glasmalerei-Museum wird das Museum durch Exponate von privaten und öffentlichen Leihgebern unterstützt.
Originalgetreue Kopien aus dem Nachlass Fritz Geiges’, die als Schenkung von Dr. Sven Fischer an das Haus gelangten, dokumentieren formal und inhaltlich die Entwicklung der Glasmalerei vom Mittelalter bis in die Neuzeit.
Substantielle Beiträge zur Sammlung kamen in Form einer Schenkung von circa 100 Glasmalereien durch die Linnicher Glasmalerei-Werkstatt Dr. Heinrich Oidtmann. Diese Glasmalereien wurden von der Nordrhein-Westfalen-Stiftung angekauft und dem Museum als Dauerleihgabe zur Verfügung gestellt. Sie stellen wichtige Beispiele moderner figurativer und abstrakter Glasmalerei der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts dar. Umfangreiche Nachlässe von Maria Katzgrau (1912-1998) und Erich Feld (1919-1990) ergänzen die Sammlung um bedeutende Bestände der Nachkriegskunst, welche die Vernetzung der Glasmaler und Glasmalerinnen mit Malerei, Plastik und Objektkunst nachweisen, die in gegenseitiger Befruchtung wesentlich zur Entwicklung der Glasmalerei beigetragen haben.

>>> 15.-19. Jahrhundert
>>> 20. Jahrhundert
>>> aktuelle Tendenzen

     
 
Seite druckenDrucken
  zum Seitenanfangnach oben
     
© Deutsches Glasmalerei-Museum Linnich 2009